2013!?!! I’m richer than I thought!

wpid-20130102_175621.jpgIt seems that I have written a blog not too long ago wishing folks a happy new year…but that was actually a whole year ago. My oh my, how time flies!  Yes, I know we always seem to say this…especially older people like me.  I would like to take a few moments (lines) to go over this past year with you and share some insights I have learned along the way.

This past year started with positive energy.  maria me and BeaI spent time with good friends in Ontario and Quebec celebrating my birthday.   In Toronto, we are 3 amazing women  {umm, yeah, I am including moi in hereJ} who try to keep up a tradition , celebrating Princess Leja  who has a birthday in November, Bella Donna’s in January and  me, Toronto Mamma or Darling (as Bella Donna calls me) in March.

Um, rewind please… Upon arrival in Toronto, at that time, a dear friend, colleague and funny character all around…Pat …{like Saturday Night Live, I’ll let you guess if this person is a guy or a gal:)}  met me at the bus terminal.

I took the overnight bus Montreal to Toronto to save time but not thinking of the wear and tear of my back.  However,  it does give me occasions to spend “awake time” with friends and family. 

Pat met me even if this was a day off from work.  I was treated to lunch and although the food was good, I have to say, the stories this person comes out with can make your sides and tummy muscles ache from sheer exertion.  Yes, Pat definitely missed her calling in making millions on Saturday Night Live.

I`m thankful for friends who make me laugh, who listen when I need to talk and who are not disturbed when I need to shed some tears.

This past year I am happy for turning one working relationship into a close sisterly friendship.  We must have been something profoundly close in a past life.   What a joy to share in her new loving relationship and preparing for her celebration of this promised love…wedding…shopping for her dress…… shopping for more intimate pieces…ahaha taking pics on my mobile for her approval of marie wedding oct 20 2012 and mesaid items!…Oh, yeah,  good times, good times !!..being a part of her enthusiasm that became like an infectious blanket that swaddled me with her new found love and gave me tiny bread crumbs along the way… of hope…even believing in love again or open to give it a chance.

Ah and H**** being there so often for me with dinners at your apartment, brunches at a restaurant and a fun trip to Drummondville where I stayed up most of the night chatting with D***…lest we forget laughing so hard watching Gilles LaTulippe in his comic splendor!

I crossed a major milestone in 2012 and my loving son and daughter in law spoiled me with a feast in their home…almost burned all my hair and their house to the ground blowing out all those damn candles…but hey, ya gotta have something eventful happen EVEN at my age!Oli et Virg march 2012

I`m also grateful to have such a great cousin and his parents…his son whom I love and thanks to that my cousin`s good choice in an amazing woman to be his wife…my friend and sister. Going to Oakville is like going back home to see mom and dad (Ma Tante Mae et Fred); my cousin  is like a protective brother, his father and mother in law feel like family to me too…yup, it`s that wise choice Wardy made again having that amazing wife in his life!Fall2005FamilyMaeFred_12

Rory

 I am thankful for many things but an Easter  holiday meal sticks to me,  with my special friends Annette and Yves.  I felt like I had rewound back the time machine last April…sitting with their children and grandchildren too…all of which treated me with as much fondness and kindness as a blood relative… how I am rich with loving people in my life!

2012 Spring came in with thunder and fury in other parts of my life…my mixed emotions wrapped me up with much grief and sadness for a while.  It`s almost like the Great Spirit was telling me to take a break and do some Spring cleaning in my life.   And yet, with difficult journeys to cross often come insightful lessons along the way…IF you are open to explore and discover.  And on this bumpy road, I journeyed…but never ever alone.

I learned that to err and be human is okay…to forgive myself is okay…to embrace the arms that want to hold me may be new and strange…but oh so comforting!  And so I allowed special people to enter my life (a few colleagues and former colleagues) support me so I don`t fall, hold me so I don`t break and nurture me so the soul does not starve.  Let me not forget those few special colleagues and a few supervisors along the way that showed compassion and embraced me many times with their flexibility and their concern…You know who you are…merci!

I am blessed to have young and not so young peeps in my life who often walked into my life at the right moment…do I really believe in coincidence?  Well, call it what you want…destiny?…fate?  Nah, it`s simply being open to explore and relish in the comfort of amazing folks…Merci mes amies!

I have fond memories of L**** making a French braid in the kitchen at work one evening.  You listened to my story and did not flee when those tears flowed…ah, the comforting feeling of having someone fix your hair…mom did this so often…how I miss her too.  Oh! And A***** those talks where we both shared profound stories on relationships and life.  Let`s not forget that little trip up North…not too far North however, far enough to get me lost…ahahaha.

My dearest “Sainte Annette”  who took me into her home many many times; Olivier and his girlfriend {who seems more like a daughter to me}, allowed me to share many many Wednesday evenings …little did they know at that time how much those soft ball games and chats with Virg fed my soul with the right amount of love and wellness that this recipe was for emotional healing.  Thank you.

bill trying to find a spotTheir pets became my kids to hug and love…my days pet sitting became a part of my final recovery and

to be completed with a week at my favourite Bed & Breakfast  A & Y, me and annettewith Annette me in dress annette made for mewho taught me to hope again. Spending hours watching her sew with loving patient hands, was like a communion of sorts…how warm and memorable that was for me. I so enjoyed those talks…

I learned that the simplest things in life can mend a broken heart…a loving friend (wife, mother, grandmother, sister) creating a masterpiece out of sheer genius = love + creativity…que tu es bonne pour moi!

I discovered from watching a great Italian chef for a few days in her kitchen was a revelation of sorts…learning how this donna bella put so much time, love and patience in her cookery…for her family, for her friends.  We spent hours commiserating in her kitchen, smelling spices…then feasting on decadence …but that was not merely due to the our tastes buds being quenched but feeling the love among this family sharing a meal…they too embraced my presence as I did theirs.  Thanks, Maria for making me laugh, allowing me space to cry and even debriefing some of our calls that we often don`t get around to at work…I too am a better person with you in my life.

I am thankful for having an understanding and amazing friend, Lise L.,  who coached me and sometimes scolded me to think more about me…so many comforting and soothing phone visits with this remarkable woman, friend, former colleague…I only got to visit in person twice in her home and once in hospital…but those moments were not spared of laughter, deep conversations and mind provoking discourses.

Thanks for all your love and support, I recovered and discovered a new me…I learned to be selfish and love myself anew and want to listen to my inner voice…Hey! I deserve to be happy and maybe it`s time to make time for me also as a woman …a human being…and not only a mother, a counsellor or volunteer and to add more spice and everything nice (sorry for the chiché…groan!) in my life.

I started with baby steps……got me a cat at a rescue shelter last September who I renamed Bette, my mom’s anglo name.  We tiptoed around each other for a few months and now she is one heck of an affectionate love purring machine! Once we were a

wpid-20130102_175917.jpg

good match, I found I was still lacking a little something-something…started dating again…that will be for another blog…stay tuned:)543447_283899118392016_782678981_n

When the soul heals, the heart opens…I am grateful I am giving this journey another chance…and enjoying it day by day, sometimes one hour at a time…and just being.

Happy New Year friends, family and colleagues…you know who you all are…some live far faraway  and some are very close by while others are just in between here and thereJ…thank you for touching my heart…my soul.

I hope to carry some of my new found wisdom over to 2013…and look forward to taste and savour life…

P.S. I`m thankful for friends who make me laugh, who listen when I need to talk and who are not disturbed when I need to shed some tears.  I know I have not named everyone here are a few who have touched my soul….Jason for being a friend as well as a great manager and knowing  how to separate the two, Debbie, Nicole, Pat, Pat T., Patrcia, Maria, Annie, Virg, Olivier, Annette,  Alain, Yves, Val L, Marie, Regine, Laurence, Andréanne, Huguette, Diane, Dianne, Peggy, Jacques, Lise, Bea, JennyO, Michelle D & G, Janice, Réal, Tante Gisele, Noémie, Fred, Aunt Mae, Armand,  Karen, Ward, Rory, Edward, Robin:), Anthony…umm, I guess I AM like Scotia Bank “I`m richer than I thought!!”

***********************************************************************************

wpid-20130102_175917.jpg

wpid-20130102_175621.jpg

Il me semble que j’ai écrit un blog il n’y a pas trop longtemps souhaitant une bonne et heureuse année à tout le monde… mais en fait  une année au complet est passée…wow!

OMG (Oh My God!) comme le temps passe vite! Oui, je sais que nous disons cela souvent; particulièrement,  les personnes âgées comme moi.   Enfin, je voudrais prendre quelques instants (lignes) pour partager quelques impressions que j’ai apprises en cours de route.

Cette dernière année a commencé avec une énergie positive. J’ai passé du temps avec de bons amis en Ontario et au Québec pour fêter mon anniversaire .

À Toronto, nous sommes 3 femmes extraordinaires {euh, ouais, cela m’inclus aussi :D} qui tentent de maintenir une tradition en célébrant nos anniversaires de naissance.  Il y a Princesse Leja qui a son anniversaire en novembre, Bella Donna en Janvier et moi en mars,  la Maman de Toronto ou Trésor (comme Bella Donna m’appelle souvent) …maria me and Bea

Euh, rembobinez le disque s’il vous plaît …((((((((((((( rewind))))))))))) À mon arrivée à Toronto, un ami très cher, un collègue et drôle de personnage… Pat ,{ comme à la télé,  Saturday Night Live, je vous laisse deviner si cette personne est un gars ou une fille :D} est venu me rencontrer dès mon arrivé.

J’avais pris l’autobus de nuit Montréal-Toronto pour gagner du temps, mais ne pensant pas à la cubature de mon dos (Ayoy!!) … mais ça me donne plus d’occasion de  profiter de mes journées parmi ma famille et mes amis.

Pat m’a rencontré au terminus ,(se déplacer pour moi durant un congé de son travail!). Pat m’a traiter à un brunch incroyable …quel délice!   Bien que la nourriture fût bonne, je dois dire, les histoires que cette personne partage ont fait travailler mes côtes et les muscles abdominal tant que j’ai ri!  Oui, Pat aurait fait des millions $$$ sur le programme de télé, Saturday Night Live simplement en partageant quelques histoires et anecdotes de sa vie.

Je dois dire que je suis reconnaissante pour les gens qui me font rire, qui m’ont écouté et encourager, et pour ceux et celles que ne sont pas déranger quand j’avais besoin de verser des larmes.

Et L****, tu te souviens la dernière fois tu m’ a offert ton écoute…en me faisant une belle tresse française…travailler dans les cheveux est aussi thérapeutique, comme maman me faisait si souvent…qu’elle me manque!  Et A**** nos échanges très profondes sur les relations et la vie. Notre petite balade dans le Nord…mais pas trop loin mais assez que je me perds…ahahaha

Je suis heureuse aussi,  d’avoir transformé une relation de travail  à une relation profonde et sincère. Tu te reconnais sûrement ma belle M***** et je dirais même que cette amitié est quasiment fraternelle.  marie wedding oct 20 2012 and meNous devions avoir quelque chose de très proche dans une vie antérieure.   Le penses-tu aussi?  Quelle joie de partager ton nouvel amour et la préparation de cette célébration de cet union… Oh que le shopping pour ta robe et accessoires tel que des morceaux plus intimes…ahaha, tu te souviens que je prenais des photos sur mon mobile pour ton approbation de dites items…ahahah  good times, good times !!   Et, tout cela en  faisant partie de ton enthousiasme exubérant m’a apparue comme une bonne douillette m’emmitouflant  avec ton amour pour la vie et ton amoureux 😀 ;  ET,  t’a  même laissé des miettes de pains minuscules tout au long de ce trajet, Merci M!!… des miettes d’’espoir … des miettes pour me faire croire en amour de nouveau.

J’ai franchi une étape majeure en 2012 et mon cher fils et belle-fille aimante m’ont gâté avec une célébration pour mon anniversaire de naissance à leur maison … où j’ai presque brûlé mes cheveux et leur maison en soufflant sur toutes ces maudites bougies !! Il y en avait dont ben !!   mais bon, il doit arriver quelque chose spectaculaire de temps en temps, MÊME à mon âge!

Ma belle H**** huguette 2011 dec 29qui ma accueillit pour mon anniversaire et bien d’autres soirées…merci pour ton écoute, me faire rire et m’avoir accompagné l’or de notre visite à Drummond…D**** et moi nous avons jaser comme des ados jusqu’aux `tits heures du matin ! Qu’on a ri comme des bonnes au spectacle de Gilles LaTulippe dans son humour magnifique!

Je suis reconnaissante d’avoir un cousin gentille ainsi ses parents, son fils que j’aime  ET, mon cousin qui a choisi une si bonne épouse, qui est devenue mon amie comme une sœur ; aller à Oakville,  c’est comme aller « chez nous » pour voir maman et papa (Ma Tante Mae et Fred) leur fils, mon  frère protecteur, son beau-père et sa belle-Rorymère aussi qui m’accueillent toujours comme le leur … eh oui, c’est  que Wardy a fait un choix judicieux en incluant cette femme et sa famille dans sa vie!

Je suis comblée d’avoir pu partager et de célébrer des repas de fêtes extraordinaires avec des amis fabuleux,  Annette et Yves. Je me sentais comme si je rembobinais arrière d’une machine à temps (time machine) .

.. assis avec leurs enfants et petits-enfants … qui m’ont accueilli avec tendresse autant comme si je serais de la famille pour vraie ! … my oh my, comme je suis riche d’avoir des amis si aimants dans ma vie.  Quel plaisir!

Printemps 2012  est arrivé avec tonnerre et fureur dans d’autres parties de ma vie,.. mes sentiments bouleversants m’ont enveloppé avec beaucoup de chagrin et de tristesse pour un certain temps. On dirait que le Grand Créateur me disait de prendre une pause et faire un ménage du printemps dans ma vie.  Et pourtant, avec les voyages difficiles à traverser les leçons pertinentes viennent souvent en cours de route … SI,  vous êtes ouvert à explorer et à découvrir.

J’ai appris que l’erreur et d’être humain c’est ben correct ; me pardonner, c’est très bien aussi … de m’entourer des bras qui veulent me tenir même si c’est nouveau et étrange …c’est tellement consolant! Et si j’ai le droit d’avoir des gens spéciaux pour entrer dans ma vie (quelques collègues et anciens collègues) me soutenir et je n `automne, serre-moi si je n` ai cassé et me nourrir si l’âme ne meurt pas de faim.

Je suis choyée d’avoir des gens, jeunes et moins jeunes dans ma vie qui sont arrivé souvent dans ma vie au bon moment … dois-je vraiment croire à la coïncidence? Eh bien, appelez ça comme vous voulez … le destin? … Non, je crois que je suis enfin ouvert à explorer et à savourer dans le confort et délisse de ces gens incroyables … Merci mes amis!

Mon amie, Annette qui m’a accueilli dans sa maison;  annette and me sept 15th2012Yves, qui a pris soins de mon véhicule à plusieurs reprises pour me dépanner; mon Olivier et son choix judicieux d’une partenaire! aa belle Virginie , qui est devenue comme
ma fille, m’ont permis de partager de nombreux mercredis soirs après ma thérapie à la clinique … ils ne se
Oli et Virg march 2012doutaient à l’époque à quel point que ces jeux de balle molle et ces causeries avec Virg, m’ont nourrit l’âme avec leurs cœurs généreux et le bien-être qui se produisait de cette bonne recette de bonté ; c’était un genre de guérison émotionnelle. Je vous remercie mes enfants!

Leurs animaux de compagnie sont bill trying to find a spotdevenus mes enfants à flatter et à aimer  … mes journées en gardant les animaux sont devenues en partie  ma consolation et que finalement en séjournant chez mon Bed & Breakfast  A & Y favori … Annette qui m’a appris à espérer et donner la vie une chance.  J’ai passé des heures en l’a regardant coudre avec des mains caressantes   et patientes ;  c’était un genre de communion de sortes … comme ces moments chaleureux et inoubliables me in dress annette made for medemeurent chers en moi. J’ai tellement aimé  nos entretiens, parlant de la vie et les relations humaines.

J’ai appris que les choses les plus simples peuvent réparer un cœur brisé … chez Maria une amie aimante (épouse, mère, grand-mère, sœur) la création d’un chef-d’œuvre d’un génie passionnée = amour + créativité = Annette … que tu es bonne pour moi!

J’ai découvert en regardant un grand chef italien pour quelques jours dans sa cuisine a été une révélation en quelque sorte … d’apprendre que cette bella donna a mis tant de temps, d’amour et de patience en cuisant  pour sa famille, pour ses amis. Nous passions des heures commisératif dans sa cuisine, les odeurs des épices … puis se régalant et dégustant … mais ce n’était pas seulement à cause de nos goûts étant éteint mais le sentiment de l’amour au sein de cette famille de partager un repas … Eux aussi embrassé ma présence que je leur fait.

Ma Bella Maria qui me fait rire, parfois nous partageons nos sentiments pour notre travail et notre famille.  Certains de mes collègues et superviseurs qui m’ont offert leur amitié et leurs soutiens.

Il ne faut pas oublié mon amie , Lise L*,  qui m’a coaché ​​pour que je pense plus à moi .tellement réconfortante et apaisante visites de téléphone avec une femme remarquable, une amie et ancien collègue … nous n’avions pas la chance de se voir souvent,  mais ces moments n’ont pas été épargnés des rires, des conversations profondes et les discours que provoquent l’esprit.

Merci à tous pour votre appuie et surtout votre amitié;  j’ai récupéré et je suis à la découverte un nouveau moi … J’ai appris à être égoïste et m’aimer à nouveau et que vous voulez écouter ma voix intérieure … Hé! Je mérite d’être heureux et peut-être c’est le moment de prendre le temps pour moi en tant que femme … et non  seulement une mère, une intervenante ou une bénévole,  pour ajouter plus de piquant dans ma vie.

J’ai commencé avec des pas de bébé en sauvant un chat dans une refuge…un coup qu’elle m’a accepté dans sa vie nous nous sommes devenue un nouveau couple qui se collait en masse:)  Mais il semblait manquer un `tit qqchose…j’ai commencé à sortir…eh oui, fréquenter un homme…à suivre dans un autre blog bien sûre!!:)543447_283899118392016_782678981_n

Quand l’âme guérit, le cœur s’ouvre … Je suis prêt à donner la vie une autre chance de me surprendre,  et de profiter d’un jour à la fois, parfois une heure à la fois …

Bonne Année mes amis, ma famille … vous savez qui vous êtes tous  … certains vivent très loin et certains sont plus prés… merci pour avoir touché mon cœur … mon âme.

J’espère  de transporter mes nouvelles connaissances et inspirations au cours de la nouvelle année 2013 ……

wpid-20130102_175917.jpgP.S. Merci au gens qui m’ont tendu la main, écouté, offert ta sagesse, ta flexibilité.  I sais que je n’ai pas nommé tous et toutes, mais bons en voici qquns:   Debbie, Nicole, Pat, Pat T., Patrcia, Maria, Annie, Virg, Olivier, Annette,  Alain, Yves, Val L, Marie, Regine, Laurence, Andréanne, Huguette, Diane, Peggy, Jacques, Lise, Bea, JennyO, Michelle D & G, Janice, Réal, Tante Gisele, Noémie, Fred, Aunt Mae, Armand,  Karen, Ward, Rory, Edward, Robin:), Anthony…umm,  Eh! c est comme l’annonce de la Banque Nouvelle Ecosse “Je suis plus riche que je pensais (“I`m richer than I thought!!)”

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

