taunting falls (tanka)

File:Princess louise falls.jpg
http://www.fallingbrook.com/history/falls.htm

cascades d’eau
inondés de souvenirs
d’un temps lointain
même l’eau n’apaise plus
ces chutes moqueurs

***

waterfalls
flooded with memories
a time long ago
even water does not soothe
those mocking falls

(c) Tournesol ’15

7 Replies to “taunting falls (tanka)”

  1. Wow! French is one of my favourite languages – though I have never been fluent, I can pick up on certain words. Seeing the English translation, just shows how beautiful French is. I am a big fan of Dalida…and love her lyrics too. This piece of poetry is beautiful. Thank you for your inspiration.

    Like

      1. Thank you so much! I love the Paroles, Paroles song from dear Dalida…it is on the CD I have of hers. I have visited Paris several times…I have been to Dalida Place where she resided…and her grave. It’s great to meet someone who knows of her too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow, you see I didn’t know the name of the guy until now, so thank you for the inspiration 🙂 I’m so glad Dalida still has a strong fanbase…her songs touch the heart.

        Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

