autumn fun (troiku)poem

At Carpe Diem today we are to write a haiku or tanka from a description our host has given us…here is his story for which I chose to write a troika.

Laughter resonates through the city park. The trees starting to become colorful, leaves decaing slowly and rustle in the wind. I smell the sweet perfume of decay and wet earth. The sun shines brightly sometimes hiding behind darkening clouds. A few meters in front of me my grandchildren are playing in an amount of fallen leaves.
“Look granddad!”
My youngest grandson shows me a chestnut he has found.
“Awesome Sem”, I respond.
I kneel in front of him. The chestnut is almost glowing in the sunlight and as I look closer I can see a faint reflection of my face on the shining skin of it.
“That’s a beauty Sem. Where did you find it?”
He points to the leaves. His two brothers are laughing aloud and are throwing with the colored leaves. It looks like it is raining leaves.
After a while we walk further through the park. It starts raining. Raindrops are falling, painting circles in the pond. the circles are slowly widening, becoming larger and larger. The circling waves finally faint away, but the rain makes new ones over and over again until … the rain has stopped and the sun appears from behind the, now rainless, clouds. At the Western horizon the colors of an ending day become visible.
I take my grandsons by the hand and we walk home. As we cross a bridge Sem stops takes his chestnut out of his pocket and throws it into the water.
“Look granddad … my chestnut makes circles.”

(troiku)

autumn day
children exploring
fallen leaves

autumn day
clinging to tiny hands
grandfather strolls

children exploring
shiny chestnut glows
echoes his love

fallen leaves
children giggling with glee
 autumn bed

(c) Tournesol ,15

Carpe Diem’s Like A Pebble #1, a new feature

11 thoughts on “autumn fun (troiku)poem

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

