late frost ( Jisei)

This is the last haiku by Basho.  It is now known as his “death poem” or Jisei.

ill on a journey
my dreams start to wander
across desiccated fields

© Matsuo Basho (Tr. Chèvrefeuille)

It’s very common in classical  times that poets wrote their death-poem, the last poem of their life.

Here is our host’s Jisei

my dreams wander
along the path of my life …
Honeysuckle blooms

Honeysuckle blooms
sharing her sweet perfume
I dream away

© Chèvrefeuille

**********************

Today on my way to work I was shocked to see new blossoms in the thicket. Most of the flowers are dying except for sunflowers growing through the concrete in the street and tiny daisies among dead bushes.   The bees were busy kissing every flower they could find today and one lone blue butterfly winked at me.

a bed of daisies
unusual blossoms
end of season

a bed of daisies
lie in wait
like poppies

unusual blossoms
caress my weary bones
butterfly kiss

end of season
contemplating
a late frost

***

© Clr '15
© Clr ’15

heart aglow
 love still to spare –
liquid blues gaze,
purple veils magenta skies
  fading sunset

(c) Tournesol’15

MindLovesMiserysMenagerie & Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille

10 Replies to “late frost ( Jisei)”

    1. I really enjoy this form and never know when I start a haiku if it will develop into troiku…I go where my muse takes me. Thank you so much for your kind words, Kristjaan:)

      Like

  1. Beautiful! Jisei often reference flowers, especially cherry blossoms, it seems, I suppose because of their fleeting lives. I’ll have to do some studying of those troiku…

    Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

