bracing (haibun)

Her mother was a sun worshiper and loved three seasons for the warmth of the sun; the budding flowers in spring,  summer sun turning her skin golden and the lush colours of autumn. Winter was not her favourite season.  She loved Christmas for her children and grandchildren; New Year’s Eve was a ritual to watch people celebrate at Time’s Square. No, winter was a season she could easily skip.

Every time family and friends phoned her in winter, she warned them to stay home and not drive on the slippery roads.  Winter was a time to sleep and hibernate like a bear.

Winter starts to show off in late autumn here. By mid-November there have been a few snowfalls.  That early Monday morning in December,  her daughter phoned to check up on her mother’s failing health…it was time, the nurse said.

© Clr ’14

frost tipped branches
spreading fallen leaves,
bracing for a chill

© Tournesol ’15/12/02

 

30 thoughts on “bracing (haibun)

      1. Hmm…..I really do thing the last paragraph should be left in the haibun and adds a ‘sting’ to the ‘tale/tail.’ To me it really gives an extra and fits very well.

        Like

      2. Yes, you’re right, Hamish. I just edited it and placed it above the haiku. I think I wrote too many haibun about her passing…it is the one year anniversary today.

        Like

      3. Jut looked again. Yes, beautiful like that. Stunning autumn leaves. Too many…not sure. Sincerity is important in this writing, and rare. Your thoughts keep her memory alive.

        Like

    1. Isn’t that word “juxtaposition” a mouthful (smiles). I used to skim over that word when reading social science articles at university. I read out loud in my mind and that one was always a challenge for me:) Thanks for your lovely comment, Melinda.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. bracing for a chill

    That’s the way it is Cheryl, bracing for the coming cold months. Wonderful haibun. Refreshing prose as opposed to verses of others!

    Hank

    Like

  2. First Christmas without our Mom who loved all things Christmas, in red and green, thank you. Having some problems getting into the spirit. And now my oldest sis is in quite a state over the death of her son. Just a week ago yesterday.

    Your haibun really struck a note for me. The final line of the haiku says it all.

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry for your loss, Janice and your sister. I can’t imagine losing a child. My thoughts are with you and your family. This is my second Christmas since she passed Dec 2 but still feels like the first. It’s a tough week.

      Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

