March sun (haibun)

 

IDYLLIC SPRING

Grassy steps led to an over-grown garden. Looking down Janice wondered who had built the walls and indeed, when those stony steps had last been used. The garden full of wild flowers was weed-choked but the sun filtered down invitingly. She began to descend, half-way down the stairs she stopped surprised.

Piercing the silence, a blood-curdling howl. Robin red-breast rises, screeching, into the sky.

She looked down the remaining stairs and saw a large brindled cat stride out from the undergrowth. Tail swishing she realized the hunter had lost his prey.

idyllic spring
among the wildflowers
the hunt continues    
© G.s.k. ‘14

We are inspired by Georgia’s idyllic spring in this beautiful haibun. One feels the youth of spring and the adventures of nature in her writing. This is my attempt to write in this spirit.

*************************

That spring, long ago,  they piled in one car to have lunch at la Cabane à sucre in Saint Grégoire ; five colleagues who formed close ties over the years.  They had shared stories of their families, wept for their children and bragged about their successes.   The drive was  only ten minutes from the  Clinique communautaire… enough time to laugh like teenagers with their banters. Enjoying this meal, they all remembered eating the first time in their grandmother’s kitchen, having savoured  the smoked ham, rich thick omelettes and home baked beans, sprinkled with maple syrup.  Les grandpères  for dessert was their choice without any hesitation.

It was difficult to leave but work awaited and they stepped out onto the sparkling snow, breathing the cool fresh air among the maple trees spilling sap in tin pails.  Every spring was the same sensation she felt of a new life and especially a renaissance of the heart.  The sun warmed her face and she felt alive and free for a moment. “A pity we have to go back to work, les filles, it is a time to traipse in this glorious forest with a paramour!”  Giggles echoed in the forest.

March sunrays
form diamonds on the snow
melt my heart

© Tournesol ’15

Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille at MindLoveMiserysMenagerie

10 thoughts on “March sun (haibun)

  1. Your lovely haibun about relationships with a backdrop of snow is heartwarming. Do miss my friends this year. Guess it is time go get out there and make a few new one. However, it is hard to properly manage relationships from the different parts times of our lives. 150 Christmas cards and I have dropped so many through the years….

    Like

    1. I am alone now…those relationships are there if I want to nurture them but with my working evenings coming back here, I have cut too many opportunities. the little free time I have is to rest and spend with my children. Wow! so many Christmas cards…if I had free time, I would join or start a writing club, and a writing your memoirs club…I joined one 20 years ago but had to move…but I would love to be in a group like that now. Each week everyone reads a blurb of their past…and you know how that works, it inspires others and helps to awaken old memories. I do miss those old times but I do have fond memories;)

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading this haibun very much … how easy it is to loose track of friends and those wonderful encounters, although the human contact is so special. Hopefully you will be able to find a writing group to work with … I’ve heard of these things being don in England for example, not only for memoirs but also for poets and fiction writers.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Melinda…no wonder we seem to connect so well…I am a March baby too:) Haiku is the 3 line poem (5-7-5 sylables), and haibun is a prose/narrative with a haiku included or tanka (5-7-5-7-7 sylables) I like that second one too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. okay good! I did have them straight in my head. I wasn’t certain. I like the haibun form too ( I like reading it — you write it so well! I search my reader for your posts every day.)

        Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

