loving embrace (haibun)

Sitting on the shore, she ponders on life.  Flashes of her youth, her marriage and promises kept as long as she could, for the sake of the children. Guilt weighed her for years wishing she could have controlled happiness for those she loves until she finally learned.  Happiness is an attitude. One can get caught up in the happiness trap, hanging on to misery, self-effacing tapes repeated in our minds or letting go and letting be.  Hanging on to “feel good” thoughts and images, mirroring the goodness within is her guide now for the rest of her journey.

 

Mother Nature soothes
cradling her stellar babe
tranquil surrender
compassion embraced
warmth slipping into deep sleep

© Tournesol ‘2016/01/20

When I saw these breathtaking photos at LivingLearningandLettingGo, I could not help but see a mother cradling her infant, the way the sun seems lulled on the horizon. Karuna was generous enough to allow me to post her photos for my reflections here.

10 thoughts on “loving embrace (haibun)

      1. I’m glad it did! You’re welcome. I can’t get the idea of the moon–or any heavenly body for that matter–as nature’s “stellar baby” out of my mind. I will have to put it somewhere in my writing 🙂

        Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

