Irish tea (haibun – troiku)

© Clr’16

She enjoyed tea especially in her old porcelain cups.  On her father’s side of the family, the O’Donnell’s had enhanced their tea rituals with porcelain sets imported from their homeland. Over the years her great-aunt’s collection had grown so much only half was housed in the antique china cabinet she had inherited from her parents.

When tea was growing in popularity, teas produced in Assam were imported to Ireland from British East India Company offering a more robust flavour.

©Clr’16

lips on porcelain
robust in flavour, yet
elegant and pure

lips on porcelain
transforming humble customs
extraordinary

robust in flavour, yet
tender traces –
generous

elegant and pure
demanding – subtle
arrogance

©Tournesol’16/01/29

Carpe Diem Timeglass – Drinking Tea

16 Replies to “Irish tea (haibun – troiku)”

  1. I am feeling the need after reading this poetic treasure your crafted which describes a lovely tea service/experience to go grab one of my fancy porcelain tea cups and pour my travel mug of chocolate peppermint tea into it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you enjoyed this. I always wondered why I prefered a more robust tea rather than English breakfast blend…even the Bold blend doesn`t seem strong enough. A friend of mine/colleague said after his three months in India, he appreciated a good steeped tea. Fortunately, there is a section in Toronto called Little India where he found a place that served a good cup of tea. Enjoy your sweet flavoured tea! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice story behind this haibun (marvellous haibun)… brought back memories tea drinking in different places of Africa .. the flavours were extraordinary – though I still prefer my tea without sugar and possibly green 😉

    Like

      1. I was lucky … when I was a child my Mom never drank sugar in her tea and I just figured that’s the way one should drink it.

        Like

      2. Yes, my grandmother should have started me on tea…she drinks it without sugar like most French people do. I guess my mother noticed her father in law ( my grandfather who was from UK) drank his tea with lots of sugar and cream. I suppose I could cut down gradually wean off it.

        Like

      3. I really can’t drink any kind of tea with additives like sugar, lemon or milk. They just taste medicinal to me like that and I can’t enjoy it. I’ve learnt to drink my coffee almost completely black now too .. but still with a dot of milk (in fact i use so little milk in my coffee that one wonders why I do it at all, but the espresso is very acidic to me without a dot of milk.)

        Like

      4. Ah … maybe that’s why I still use that bit of milk … though I don’t really remember any sort of problem in that sense, I might have known instinctively 😉

        Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

