Daily moments – Feb 17 /16 ~loving memories (kikobun)

The view of fresh fallen snow offers a promise of hope. She looks at the pure whiteness from her bedroom window and smiles.  It was a welcoming mild day compared to the arctic weekend she’d just passed…the snow would be heavy yet sticky, just the right consistency to make snow forts, snowballs and snowmen.   She saw children giggling and sliding in her mind’s eye.

©Clr'16
©Clr’16

Walking on the snow-covered sidewalks she noticed the grey skies threatening more snow but it was too mild…surely it may turn to rain or sleet.  Mother Nature can get overwhelmed with the earth’s heating; she seemed dazed and confused.

Later shuffling through snow, its texture reminded her of cookie dough batter. You know when you add butter to that fluffy white flour and beat it until it all blends together.  Her mind wandered to old childhood memories.  Her GrandMaman would let her lick the bowl of batter…how she loved adding just a smidgen of sugar on the raw dough.

© Clr'16
© Clr’16

GrandMaman would spread the batter and let her granddaughter choose the cookie cutters of shapes of animals, stars or hearts depending on the occasion. Her favourites were the star and heart.

Walking along the street streets, she looked up at the grey skies

Searching
under veiled skies
love of her heart

© Tournesol’16/02/17

Daily Moments Feb 17 2016 

15 thoughts on “Daily moments – Feb 17 /16 ~loving memories (kikobun)

    1. Thanks, Melinda. Somehow the cookie tastes better, eh? The walk home was treacherous though with icy sidewalks and cooler temperatures. So glad I had my cleats…a few years ago without those, I would have cried, begged a manager for a lift or taken a taxi.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome 🙂 I was wishing I had some cleats. I awoke to a frosty morning that thawed to a deluge. You are right about those cookies! I would avoid the other shapes until all the hearts and stars were gone. 🙂

        Like

      2. You know, I bought a bunch of cookie cutters a few years ago to make cookies with my grandson and I never got around to it. I remember he would watch cupcakes rising in the little window of the oven like it was a Star Wars movie:) I can`t wait to cut down a few days from work to have more time to enjoy the grands. As for the cleats, I paid only $10.00 for them last year and they still are great. I always carry them in my backpack “just in case” along with my collapsible cane. these are the ones I have http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00QKQ81XQ?psc=1 but I got mine at a drug store.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. our drugstores are just not up to snuff. They have all the fru-fru soaps but not the important stuff. I have no cookie cutters but after reading your poem, I think I need to rectify that. 🙂

        Like

      4. You won’t regret…there are many types but the one that lifts completely over your toes and over your heel reaching the back of your ankle won’t slip off if you walk in deep snow…I lost one like that

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Janice. I was going to compose a narrative of a past experience sailing but my walk to work changed all of that. I have been wanting to write about that texture of snow. Last night with the freezing rain the snow banks changed and it looked like patten leather…reminding me of white patten leather shoes when I was a kid.

      Like

  1. What an uplifting story. You carried the reader along on your adventure. All the descriptions were so alive. Spending time with your Grandmaman felt so comforting. I have not come across a kikobun. It is new. I like the way of its storytelling and the short poem at the end to finish out the tale, It is a beautiful way to tell a story, Your illustrations fit well with your writing. – jk

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. A kikobun is a haibun but the narrative must be about nature, with a haiku or tanka at the beginning or hte end of the prose.

      Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

