slipping (tanka) “through the chinks comes the light”

rocking gently
sinks in a deep slumber
lull of the water
between sudden arrests
slips in the shimmering abyss

© Tournesol’16/02/19

Carpe Diem Theme Week #1 episode 3 The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying Insight 2 “through the chinks comes the light”

What happens exactly as you die? In the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying Sogyal Rinpoche explains it through the idea/ thought of bardo. “Bardo” means “inbetween” and its a kind of transition-mode. Let us look further in the depth of the meaning of bardo, maybe than we can understand it 100%.

Through the chinks comes the light

The original meaning of bardo is, the space between the moment of dying and reincarnation / rebirth. As we ‘dive’ deeper into this matter than we discover more than one bardo. Let’s go …

First there is the bardo of living and dying. This is a painful bardo, but also the moment that the nature of spirit / soul becomes real and in a way breaks through the armor of the body. This we can see in, for example, the story of Easter as Jesus prays in the Garden of Gethsemane and asks His Father, God, to take away the cup of poison. Than He is arrested and indures the pain of 39 lashes and the crucifixion. As He dies He commands His Spirit to His Father. This is what we can call the bardo of living and dying.

 What follows is the bardo which is called the shining bardo or dharmata, the state of consciousness / mind after death. To explain this shining bardo, wasn’t easy, because I could not find something to explain it with. Than I got a revelation. This shining bardo you can see as a bright light, the radiation of the pure nature of spirit / mind. It’s a state of pure happiness. In a way this you can see as what is happening as you (someone) has a Near Death Experience (NDE). I ran into a few stories about NDE when I was preparing these episodes. As you read the reports about NDE than everyone sees a bright light in which shadows are moving, ancestors mostly, but angels too.
This shining bardo doesn’t stay forever. Sometimes it takes / endures seven days, but it can also take seven weeks.

The next bardo is called the bardo of becoming. The consciousness / mind finds a new place, in a new body and a new life gets started. This we can also see in the story of Easter. After three days, and taht’s very fast as we compare this with the Tibetan idea about living and dying, Jesus rises from the grave. He conquered dead and became an enlightened being who walks a short time on this earth and than rises to Heaven making the Holy Spirit, a kind of reborn energy, avalable to the world. With His ressurection and entering Heaven He broke the Circle of Bardo, as did Buddha.

In Tibetan tradition of bardo the songs from The Book of the Dead were recited by the monks to lead the spirit. Rinpoche goes further in this idea and describes his ideas in The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying. In his book he sees life as it is as a bardo. The bardo between birth and the moment of sying, life in itself is a transition. It’s a time in which we learn, contemplate, meditate and prepare on death.

Rinpoche goes even further, a period of uncertainty can also be a bardo. For example, the moment you come home and see that there has been a burglary while you were away. Or that moment between “I have bad news” and “I have to tell you …” At that moment the concrete of your reality breaks and you feel that the ground is disappearing beneath your feet. Than the realization comes … you see the essence. No more time for futilities. It’s a moment of truth … you can see what really is important.

This is what this Insight means … discover the truth by tearing down the veil. This is what happened as Jesus died at the cross. The veil that hid the Holy of Holies was torn apart exposing the holiest place in the temple and the revelation that Jesus really was the Son of God.

Our host’s  response

To write a haiku, tanka or another Japanese poetry form about this 2nd Insight isn’t easy I think, but I had to try it myself (of course) and this is what came in mind, a haiku from my archives:

phoenix spreads its wings
after the dark cold winter night
finally spring

© Chèvrefeuille

22 thoughts on “slipping (tanka) “through the chinks comes the light”

Add yours

    1. Well I was not considering any physical pain. But I remember my grandfather smiling looking at his 7 children kneeling around his bed the day he died…seconds before passing he whisper the light was so beautiful. I was 6 then and I guess that stuck with me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yes and no, I stay in to write and read yes, but I also need time to recharge on my own. Work drains me to the dregs and being on my own replenishes my energy.

        Like

      2. I hear what you mean! I seem to have withdrawn a lot from friends as my work (although I love it) takes up my energy. Reading and writing gives me energy and relives all tension from my work.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. yes reading and writing is a wonderful balm! I’m glad you love your work. I’m feeling a bit burnt out on the work front. Hoping that will subside and that this week will be easier.

        Like

      4. I hope you enjoy your work, Melinda. I was your age when I made a huge career change and went back to university. It took me 9 years part time but I enjoyed the journey as much as reaching my destination.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Good for you. I wanted to write since I was a young child and be a counsellor or teacher since I was about 12. It all happened later in life but I still made it happen. Never give up on your dreams, once they take shape more dreams will appear. It is what gives one drive to live and not just survive.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Haha, there is a line by John Kabbat Zinn in Mindfulness that says something like this: if we were actually in control of our breath it wouldn’t take too long before we would get distracted and die. So true!!

        Liked by 1 person

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Noir

the darker side to sedge808

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Legends of Windemere

Enjoy the Adventure

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Inside The Poet's Mind

Official Page of Poet/Author T J Therien

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Dave Kester

This is where I share information, motivations, and experiences that have and continue to impact my life. I will endeavor to present my highest and best.

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

writing in north norfolk

Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

adarkenedhouse

mind {is} the gap

Mark M. Redfearn

Poems and Pieces

Butterfly Sand

Curiosity run amok . . .

Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Stories, poems and thoughts about things I find interesting!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Linda G. Hill

Life in progress

My Travels with Depression

A journey through therapy

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

Random Thoughts Under A Blue Moon

Comments, Remarks, Observations, Statements, Reflections, and other Blabbery

A Whispered Wind

The Works of Lori Carlson

Sights at 60

views along life's roads

The Gifts That We Share

Caring for parents with Alzheimer's

WritersDream9

The details of my Journey.

Busy Mind Thinking

Wait! What?!

The Bee Writes...

.... don't expect anything...not even the unexpected...

charles1958

thoughts, essays, research and fun from a research librarian

Penumbra Haiku

..... Just ....... Haiku .....

