coming home (haibun) flash fiction 99 words

Twenty-five men left five days ago. The jeep left a trail dust riding over the hill where they were stationed. Today only twelve men returned but only five in one piece. It was their last mission before returning back home. They were anxious to see their family back in Canada but dreaded delivering the tragic news to more grieving families. Sergeant Harvey drove the jeep behind the compound and their mascot ran to greet them. Amir was a black Labrador mix and his loyalty was genuine.

Photo Prompt: FlashfictionForAspiringWriters

dropping to his knees
savouring a gesture of pure love
man’s best friend

(c) Tournesol ’16-03-18

(99 words)

16 Replies to “coming home (haibun) flash fiction 99 words”

  1. Your story is one that probably very common in a war zone – one which a unit of soldiers lose many of their comrades and those that do come back come back with injuries. War is so sad! I also loved your haibun! Welcome to the FFfAW challenge! We are happy you have joined us!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Joy. Since I managed to turn this narrative into a haibun I could post it on my blog of Japanese form poetry but I usually post my flash ficitons on Traces, so I am not quite a newcomer (wink)

      Like

      1. LOL!! You fooled me! I’ll “try” not to welcome you again, but if I do, please forgive me. Sometimes it is hard to keep up with who is new and who isn’t.

        Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

