art is relative (haibun)

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder just as finding beauty in any kind of creative art. I don’t know why but this prompt “art” makes me thing of garbage day in the suburbs. Whenever you want to get rid of something that is still in fairly good condition, you usually put it to the curb a day or two before garbage day. I got rid of two sewing machines that way, a television and furniture. Within a few hours I saw cars or pick-up trucks collecting my wares. Someone’s trash can be another’s treasure and that is what makes me find the relation between art and trash.

I remember when I was a teenager and lived at our grandmother’s house. My sister and my bedroom was the furnace room in the basement. There was a small old bookshelf and I decided to paint it psychedelic style. Yep, I made it look like trash but at the time I thought it was art. Boy, was my grandmother EVER patient and tolerant to endure that piece of crap in our bedroom. But then again, she did not intrude in our little sanctuary too much. We were so blessed and never truly realized that gift at the time.

Look at young children who draw us their first pictures. Okay, okay, your heart is probably melting thinking of that first drawing. But honestly we actually had to ask our child what they saw in it because, let’s face it, we had not clue. But our hearts were all gooey and warm and filled with so much love, right?
Writing is an art as well as most of you who are reading may agree. Well, heck, of course it is!! When I started blogging I am pretty sure I did not create art but with encouragement and my love of the written word, I got a tiny bit better every day. I can’t draw or paint as I would love to but I have accepted to paint my world with words in poetry and especially in my waka (Japanese forms of poetry)

(c)Clr’16

lazy afternoon
ending with a slow dive
in the distance
heart swells with such joy
magenta skies and mauve clouds

(c) Tournesol’16

Stream of Conciousnes SoCS “art” at LindaGHill

16 thoughts on “art is relative (haibun)

  1. I agree Cheryl -Lynn. Art is relative. Your words are paintings to me. I love poetry because of its brevity and if it’s good poetry…the imagery that takes me out of my own element. Hugs of love to you dear one!! And yes, grandmas are angels who have mega amounts of love and patience. I had one and am trying my best to be one😊

    Like

  2. I love your beautiful words, Cheryl-Lynn. I am happy to see new posts from you because I know they all contain vivid word images. I am amazed with your skill at the poetic forms you use.

    Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

