the ear sees (haibun)

An interesting exercise Petrus gives to Paulo especially when he makes him close his eyes to listen to him tell a story. Not for a moment can he open his eyes and he can smell the oil from the old locomotive where they are sitting…and he listens.

When I think of listening, I cannot help but be reminded of the work I do. Seventeen years ago, I would strain my ears to listen to a caller tell his story. The strain was not to hear the words, it was the body language I was used to that now I had to learn to hear it through the phone. Within months, my hearing became sharper and grew a lense to see. I could hear the frown and sadness at the beginning of a phone call and after a long time…minutes or hours, I could hear an image of this person who had transformed at the end of the call.

tears echo
soft whimpering
telling a tale

telling a tale
a story long overdue
that slow release
as she says goodnight
I can hear a smile

©Tournesol’17/01/29

CDHK – Listening – The Pilgrimage

7 thoughts on “the ear sees (haibun)

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

