Daily Moments – May 13, 2017 – Mother’s Day (haibun)

Flowers are lovely gifts and some are fragrant and sweet.  Treated to a brunch or dinner is nice too. If the weather stays mild, BBQ’s are the rage for many families as well.  But deep down all I need to really hear is, “I love you, Mom.”  This is a set of words in any language, that goes straight to the heart.

So, you know those commercials that tug at your heartstrings…and the hallmark cards that seem to say it better than you…don’t worry…they don’t say it better!  Just those four little words are more than you know and poetry to the ears of any mother…trust me.

This is a weekend, ever since I can remember, I would use the English language and try to share my thoughts and feelings that filled my heart.  This was a time I may have rhymed a line or two but mostly, I’d tell her how much she is important to me.

Time to visit her new home and set some flowers and say a few words.  Tell her how much she is missed and in my thoughts every single day.

I am thankful for the love she swaddled me in as an infant. I am grateful she looked at me and saw only beauty and success. How could I not succeed in life with such confidence in me, she mirrored each and every day?!

I’m so happy she was there every step of the way even when I had my babies.  She taught me how to bathe them and gave me permission to be a tigress and hold them as long as they needed me and  showed me that was true mothering and loving, not spoiling at all.

I’m glad my children were blessed with the greatest Nanny on earth, who made them laugh and kissed their bobos too.

I still remember one Mother’s Day morning being served a sweet breakfast of (uncooked) chocolate pudding  and I’ve never managed to make anything quite as delicious.

So maybe this weekend I will look at old movies and play old tunes that she loved so much…definitely, sounds like a plan for the weekend.

missing you
today and tomorrow
‘til we meet again
sliding down a rainbow – or,
swinging on a brilliant star

Until then, keep visiting me as a blue butterfly;  keep making signals on my mobile phone, tickle me in my ear or visit me in my dreams.

©Tournesol’17/05/12

Daily Moments –  May 13, 2017 – Mother’s Day  (haibun)

Written for Mother’s Day AND LindaGHill’s Friday reminder and prompt for SoCS May 13, 2017: Language

Happy Mother’s Day, Linda!

10 Replies to “Daily Moments – May 13, 2017 – Mother’s Day (haibun)”

  1. “I love you, Mom.” This is a set of words in
    any language, that goes straight to the heart.

    Certainly it does, Cheryl! The beauty is in hearing it everyday and for any occasion. And upon hearing it, it is all Mother’s Day for the rest of the day!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

