Departure #1 to #22 (Autumn Retreat – Departure)

I am way behind as I just noticed this prompt, Autumn Retreat – Departure for CDHK today looking at stunning poetry by Kim and Milan. So I decided to try and play catch up. July 15th to August 5th would be 22 submissions listed herein below.

Departure #1 growing up (tanka)

departing anew
kissing my children
leaving for work
returning to faces transformed
growing pains hurt mothers too

Departure #2 a mother’s love (senryu)

My mother always said that God loaned me to her for eighteen years to love, nurture and prepare me to leave the family nest and start my own independent life.

letting go
with love
a mother’s true love

Departure #3 dementia (tanka)

each day
she asks me
do I know you?
year after year
saying goodbyes

Departure #4 hanging on (tanka)

lilacs
even when you leave
your fragrance lingers
until next spring
I`ll still wait for you

Departure #5 summer romance (senryu)

summer love
hot and sizzling
but oh! so short lived

Departure #6 loving mother (tanka)

I remember
every day I left your side
I kissed you goodbye
one or ten-thousand kisses
each one was new to me

Departure #7 farewells (senryu)

standing at the dock
ship’s horn vibrates in my soul
but I can’t see you

Departure #8 divorce (tanka)

you were just a teen
visiting me from far away
my heart breaks
will I still recognize you
on your next visit

 

Departure #9 death (senryu)

a child cannot grasp
Où est GrandPapa?
death is forever

 

Departure #10 young bride (tanka)

leaving home for good
mother-daughter bond is strong
I was not ready
the cord did stretch forever
until I did let go

Departure #11 letting go (tanka)

taking down old photos
generations archived
time to let go
looking at my blank wall
each nail shouts their name

Departure #12 goodbyes (senryu)

the train whistled
waving goodbye to Daddy
piercing my heart

Departure #13 sudden endings (senryu)

shocked with disbelief
first fallen leaf in July
premature endings

Departure #14 white comforter (tanka)

first snowfall
autumn leaves rest
over death’s bed
comforting tears of grief
like Grandmaman’s duvet

 

Departure #15 dust to dust (senryu)

autumn leaves
falling near her grave
Mother’s not alone

Departure #16 shorter days (tanka)

barely daylight
in my waking hours
day ends too early
soon I will become
a keeper of the night

Departure #17 colours of autumn (tanka)

autumn’s irony
bright amber, gold and red
liven the landscape
final days approaching
casting its dismal shadow

Departure #18 Snow Day (tanka)

first snow storm
happy children making forts
schools are closed
I’m stranded for a few days
watching snow ploughs do their thing

Departure #19 man’s best friend (senryu)

pausing at the door
tapping of eager paws
no longer greets me

Departure #20 Falling in love with fiction (senryu)

that last chapter
like saying goodbye
to a good friend

Departure #21 attachment (senryu)

no longer a baby
waiting for the school bus
Mommy dries her tears

 

Departure #22 – A new school year (haibun)

I think that my mother was the only mother that I knew, growing up, who was not anxious for school to start in September. All my friends’ mothers did not work and relished the peace and quiet come September. Yet, my mother worked at home as a hairdresser but she loved having us around. It was as if each year a part of her children was separating from her little by little.

a new school year
teachers and classmates
influencing views
mother feels she’s lost her touch
forced to let go

 

© Tournesol 2017/08/05

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 Replies to “Departure #1 to #22 (Autumn Retreat – Departure)”

  1. Wow, you’ve been busy, Cheryl! I enjoyed all of them but the ones that hit home were the mother/children ones (my daughter will be arriving this afternoon – and she’s pregnant with her first child); the one about dementia because of my mother and grandfather and the one with the lilacs; and these:
    ‘taking down old photos
    generations archived
    time to let go
    looking at my blank wall
    each nail shouts their name’
    and
    ‘autumn’s irony
    bright amber, gold and red
    liven the landscape
    final days approaching
    casting its dismal shadow’

    Like

    1. Ah thanks so much for taking the time to read them, Kim! The photo thing I did today…so many old photo ocluttering my wall. We are cleaningmom’s house to put it up for sale and that stresses me, still working and well writing is not so consistent. I miss writing though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Way to catch up Cheryl..some gems here. My favorite is this one
    Departure #11 letting go (tanka)

    taking down old photos
    generations archived
    time to let go
    looking at my blank wall
    each nail shouts their name

    This went straight to my heart. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Kristjaan, I am humbled, as I feel when writing so many in one sitting is not my best writing but more reflections of past and present. But I did want to be part of this retreat. You do so much as a host, mentor and spiritual guide in many ways. Thank you for that. I have grown since I joined CDHK and since I met my guru…all in the same timing which means it was all meant to be. Namaste.

      Like

Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

