Recalling joy (haibun)

Recently I have been reflecting on how I tend to be preoccupied with worry. However, I realize that ruminating in some cases bring me joy for example, when I am replaying a memory that warms my heart.

I remember seeing a video my daughter in law was kind enough to send me of my 3 yr old grand-daughter opening a Valentine card I mailed her and she takes her time trying not to tear the card inside, seeing it as a gift to her and once she opens it she shouts, “It’s a HOLIDAY! Thank you, Nana!” How quickly such delightful moments escape us when we are trying to record that moment…

pen to paper
that brief moment
put into words

pen to paper
recalling that joy
freezing an image
alas! the moment has passed!
like a butterfly in flight

I have since found a marvelous way to hold on to such memories. I relive them several times in my mind and whenever I need to take a 5 minute break to relax and get my “joyful fix”, I close my eyes and focus only on these blessed moments. I have several of my personal real life videos banked in the front drawer of my brain. Try this “fail free” practice of visiting joy at your leisure…and breathe [smiles].

(c) Tournseol 2024-04-05

Daily Moments – 2024-04-05









Your comments are like sunflowers beaming at me:Vos commentaires sont des sourires des Tournesols

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.